Travelling scientist information & list

ACL Study Group Traveling Scientist

This prestigious position is awarded to a scientist with an established body of work and expertise in one or more topics of interest to the ACLSG membership. The traveling scientist need not have attended any prior meetings but should not be a practicing orthopaedic surgeon. All members of the ACL Study Group are welcome to submit names for nomination for this position.

The position comes with a $15,000 stipend for ACL research-related travel during the following two years which must include mandatory attendance at the ACLSG meeting in 2020 (location TBD) at the conclusion of the fellowship. 

Applicants submit a potential conflict of interest statement and a paragraph about their research interests – dates for submission will be published when available. 

The current chairman of the ACL Study Group scientific committee is Bob Magnussen

Two scientists have been awarded the position and will attend the 2018 meeting in Queenstown, New Zealand.  

  1. Joanna Stephen
  2. Carl Imhauser

Current Traveling Scientists:

  • 2018-2023: Joanna Stephen
  • 2020-2023: Carol Mouton
  • 2022-2024: Richard van Arkel

Previous Awarded position:

  • 2018-2020: Carl Imhauser
  • 2016-2018: Lou DeFrate
  • 2014-2016: Kate Webster and Tom Andriacchi
  • 2012-2014: Greg Myer
  • 2010-2012: Braden Fleming and Eiji Kondo
  • 2008-2010: Tim Hewett and Harukazu Tohyama
  • 2006-2008: Bruce Beynnon and Martha Murray
  • 2004-2006: Andrew Amis

About The ACL Study Group

The ACL study group was organized 25 years ago by a small group of orthopedic surgeons with a common interest in the anterior cruciate ligament. Today, Dr. John Bergfeld organizes this large international study group that meets every 2 years to exchange information in an informal and friendly atmosphere.